2022 NHL All-Star Game rosters, captains announced

Kaprizov, a ahead (Minnesota Wild), and defensemen Fox (New York Rangers) and Makar (Colorado Avalanche) had been amongst 36 gamers chosen by the NHL Hockey Operations Division on Thursday to symbolize their respective divisions.

Washington Capitals ahead Alex Ovechkin (Metropolitan Division), Toronto Maple Leafs ahead Auston Matthews (Atlantic Division), Colorado Avalanche ahead Nathan MacKinnon (Central Division) and Edmonton Oilers ahead Connor McDavid (Pacific Division) had been named captains following the 2022 NHL All-Star Fan Vote.

“Thanks very a lot, followers,” Ovechkin stated. “Clearly, it is an enormous honor for me to get that captaincy and it exhibits respect from the followers. Clearly, it is an enormous honor, an enormous privilege and it is going to be enjoyable.”

The eleventh participant for every division might be chosen by followers by way of the Final Males In vote at NHL.com/lastmenin, NHL.com/vote or on a cell interactive poll on the NHL app. Voting runs by way of 11:59 p.m. ET Monday.


[RELATED: More 2022 Honda NHL All-Star Weekend coverage]


“It means quite a bit to be acknowledged and get the assist from the followers, clearly Leafs Nation,” Matthews instructed ESPN. “… I am actually wanting ahead to Vegas.”

Ovechkin might be making his eighth look, probably the most amongst gamers chosen. McDavid might be making his fifth look, and Matthews and MacKinnon will every be there for the fourth time.

“Clearly, it is a privilege,” Ovechkin stated. “It does not matter in case you are voted by the followers or the League selects you. It is a privilege. It is representing your workforce, your self and, clearly, have enjoyable with the perfect gamers on the market on the ice. It is a fairly cool second.”

Ahead Mark Stone and defenseman Alex Pietrangelo will symbolize the host Vegas Golden Knights within the Pacific Division. Will probably be the primary All-Star Recreation for Stone and third for Pietrangelo (2018, 2020 with the St. Louis Blues).

Ten of the highest 14 gamers within the NHL in factors had been chosen: McDavid (53), Oilers ahead Leon Draisaitl (53), Ovechkin (52), Florida Panthers ahead Jonathan Huberdeau (47), Kaprizov (40), San Jose Sharks ahead Timo Meier (39), Calgary Flames ahead Johnny Gaudreau (38), Tampa Bay Lightning defenseman Victor Hedman (38), Matthews (38) and Carolina Hurricanes ahead Sebastian Aho (37).

Along with the Golden Knights, seven different groups had two gamers chosen: the Hurricanes (Aho, goalie Frederik Andersen) and the Rangers (Fox, ahead Chris Kreider) within the Metropolitan; the Lightning (Hedman, goalie Andrei Vasilevskiy) and the Maple Leafs (Matthews, goalie Jack Campbell) within the Atlantic; the Avalanche (MacKinnon, Makar) and the Wild (Kaprizov, goalie Cam Talbot) within the Central; and the Oilers (McDavid, Draisaitl) within the Pacific.

Rod Brind’Amour of the Hurricanes (Metropolitan), Andrew Brunette of the Panthers (Atlantic), Jared Bednar of the Avalanche (Central) and Peter DeBoer of the Golden Knights (Pacific) had been named coaches for his or her respective divisions Tuesday.

The All-Star Recreation will function a three-game match, performed in a 3-on-3 format, showcasing groups from every NHL division. Every of the 4 groups will embrace 9 skaters and two goalies.

The 2022 NHL All-Stars Expertise offered by DraftKings Sportsbook will happen on Feb. 4 (7:30 p.m. ET; ESPN, SN, TVAS).

Listed below are the rosters:

Metropolitan Division (All-Star appearances)

F Sebastian Aho, CAR (2nd)

F Claude Giroux, PHI (seventh)

F Jack Hughes, NJD (1st)

F Chris Kreider, NYR (2nd)

F Alex Ovechkin, WSH (eighth)*

D Adam Fox, NYR (1st)

D Adam Pelech, NYI (1st)

D Zach Werenski, CBJ (2nd)

G Frederik Andersen, CAR (2nd)

G Tristan Jarry, PIT (2nd)

Atlantic Division (All-Star appearances)

F Drake Batherson, OTT (1st)

F Patrice Bergeron, BOS (third)

F Jonathan Huberdeau, FLA (2nd)

F Dylan Larkin, DET (2nd)

F Auston Matthews, TOR (4th)*

F Nick Suzuki, MTL (1st)

D Rasmus Dahlin, BUF (1st)

D Victor Hedman, TBL (third)

G Jack Campbell, TOR (1st)

G Andrei Vasilevskiy, TBL (4th)

Pacific Division (All-Star appearances)

F Leon Draisaitl, EDM (third)

F Jordan Eberle, SEA (2nd)

F Johnny Gaudreau, CGY (sixth)

F Adrian Kempe, LAK (1st)

F Connor McDavid, EDM (fifth)*

F Timo Meier, SJS (1st)

F Mark Stone, VGK (1st)

D Alex Pietrangelo, VGK (third)

G John Gibson, ANA (third)

G Thatcher Demko, VAN (1st)

Central Division (All-Star appearances)

F Kyle Connor, WPG (1st)

F Alex DeBrincat, CHI (1st)

F Kirill Kaprizov, MIN (1st)

F Clayton Keller, ARI (2nd)

F Jordan Kyrou, STL (1st)

F Nathan MacKinnon, COL (4th)*

F Joe Pavelski, DAL (4th)

D Cale Makar, COL (1st)

G Juuse Saros, NSH (1st)

G Cam Talbot, MIN (1st)

* Fan-elected captain

Source link

Leave a Comment