Three VFLs Set For Reese’s Senior Bowl Saturday in Mobile

MOBILE, Ala. , Three leaders on the 2021 Tennessee soccer crew – large receiver Velus Jones Jr., offensive lineman Cade Mays and cornerback Alontae Taylor – will characterize the squad on the 2022 Reese’s Senior Bowl at 2:30 pm ET Saturday in Hancock Whitney Stadium.

The sport might be televised stay by NFL Community with VFL Charles Davis serving as analyst. VFL Mike Keith, the “Voice of the Tennessee Titans,” will name the motion on SiriusXM NFL Radio Channel 88.

Jones Jr. fulfills a lifelong dream of enjoying within the all-star sport he attended annually as a kid growing up in Mobile, The 2021 SEC Co-Particular Groups Participant of the 12 months was the one participant within the nation with over 800 receiving yards, 200 punt return yards and 600 kickoff return yards this previous fall. His 132.5 all-purpose yards per sport was second within the SEC and sixteenth within the nation. He obtained his grasp’s diploma from UT in December.

It is the third consecutive 12 months that Tennessee has despatched a minimum of one large receiver to school soccer’s most prestigious postseason all-star sport.

Mays, who started his profession at Georgia, performed two seasons with the Vols and began all 17 video games he performed in. A 2021 second-team All-SEC choice, he began 10 video games at proper sort out and was a two-time SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week this previous fall.

Mays not solely continued a household legacy of Vols, he follows in his father’s footsteps 27 years later on the Senior Bowl. Kevin Mays, a 1994 All-SEC guard and captain, was certainly one of three former UT gamers who have been chosen to the 1995 Senior Bowl.

Taylor has drawn rave critiques this week in Cell. He completed his senior season with a career-best 60 tackles, six cross breakups and two interceptions. The Vice Chair of the SEC Soccer Management Council, Taylor registered 162 tackles and 19 passes defended in his 4 seasons. He earned his diploma from UT in communication research in December.

All three gamers served pivotal roles in serving to this system full a exceptional turnaround that featured seven victories and a Music Metropolis Bowl berth following a 3-7 season a 12 months prior.

Tennessee has produced 131 Senior Bowl invitees courting again to 1951, together with Jones, Mays and Taylor.

All-Time Tennessee Senior Bowl Invitees
1951 – Bud Sherrod
1952 – Ted Daffer, Hank Lauricella, Invoice Pearman, Gordon Polofsky
1954 – Mack Franklin
1955 – Darris McCord
1957 – Buddy Cruze, John Gordy, Johnny Majors
1958 – Invoice Anderson
1959 – Carl Smith
1960 – Lebron Shields
1962 – Mike Lucci
1963 – John Hudson
1964 – Dick Evey, Mallon Faircloth
1965 – Steve DeLong (MVP)
1966 – Frank Emmanuel
1967 – Johnny Mills, Paul Naumoff
1968 – John Boynton, Bob Johnson, Dewey Warren
1969 – Charles Rosenfelder
1970 – Steve Kiner, Jack Reynolds
1971 – Chip Kell, Tim Priest
1972 – Ray Nettles, Bobby Majors, Curt Watson
1973 – Jamie Rotella, Conrad Graham
1974 – Eddie Brown
1977 – Andy Spiva
1979 – Robert Shaw
1980 – Roland James
1981 – Danny Spradlin
1982 – Brian Ingram, Lee North
1983 – Darryal Wilson
1984 – Mark Studaway
1985 – Invoice Mayo, Carl Zander
1986 – Eric Swanson, Daryl Dickey
1988 – Anthony Miller, John Bruhin

1989 – Keith DeLong, Jeff Francis
1990 – Marion Passion, Eric Nonetheless
1991 – Tony Thompson, Vince Moore, Alvin Harper (MVP)
1992 – Dale Carter, Bernard Dafney, Chris Mims, Chuck Smith, Jeremy Lincoln
1993 – Todd Kelly
1994 – Charlie Garner (MVP), Cory Fleming
1995 – Kevin Mays, James Stewart, Billy Williams
1996 – DeRon Jenkins, Jason Layman, Jeff Smith
1997 – Jay Graham, Tyrone Hines, Joey Kent
1998 – Jonathan Brown, Terry Truthful, Leonard Little, Tori Noel, Trey Teague
1999 – Shawn Bryson, Jermaine Copeland, Steve Johnson, Peerless Worth, Al Wilson
2000 – Chad Clifton, Dwayne Goodrich, Tee Martin, Spencer Riley, Raynoch Thompson, Darwin Walker
2001 – David Leaverton, Cedrick Wilson, Eric Westmoreland
2002 – Will Bartholomew, Andrew Lott, Will Overstreet, Travis Stephens, Fred Weary
2003 – Julian Battle, Rashad Moore
2004 – Scott Wells
2005 – Dustin Colquitt, Cedric Houston
2006 – Cody Douglas, Parys Haralson, Jesse Mahelona, ​​Albert Toeaina
2007 – Arron Sears, Jonathan Wade
2008 – Erik Ainge (MVP), Brad Cottam
2009 – Robert Ayers, Arian Foster, Anthony Parker
2010 – Morgan Cox, Chris Scott, Dan Williams
2011 – Luke Stocker
2012 – Malik Jackson
2013 – Mychal Rivera, Dallas Thomas
2014 – Ja’Wuan James, Daniel McCullers
2017 – Joshua Dobbs, Cameron Sutton
2020 – Jauan Jennings, Darrell Taylor
2021 – Josh Palmer, Trey Smith
2022 – Velus Jones Jr., Cade Mays, Alontae Taylor

Source link

Leave a Comment