The Moons Of Mars

Earth and Mars are the only planets in the inner solar system that have moons. Earth has one moon and Mars has two.

The two Martian moons are called Phobos and Deimos, and they are noticeably different from Earth’s moon.

Phobos is the larger of the two, having a diameter of 13.8 miles (22.2 kilometres). Deimos has a diameter of only 7.8 miles (12.6 kilometres).

Phobos completes one orbit of Mars every 7.6 hours, while it takes Deimos 30.3 hours to orbit Mars.

A full Phobos is about 33% as bright as a full moon on Earth. 

There are two leading theories that seek to explain the origin of Phobos and Deimos.

 Both Phobos and Deimos have shapes and compositions similar to some asteroids in the Asteroid Belt,

like this?

more stories


Click Here
Clike Here